top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureArchana

How to declutter your purse ​?

Updated: Mar 10, 2019

... and keep it that way !

 


My current bag

I've always been curious to know what others carry in their purse. I’ve seen people carrying literally their entire home inside their bag. I previously used to carry a tote-bag, with all the stuff I don’t need. Overtime I started embracing a minimalistic lifestyle .While I stopped the habit of hoarding, I noticed that I should probably clean my bag and carry things I absolutely need and nothing more. These are few tips that helped me get started : 1. Downsizing to a smaller bag. This is the most easiest and effective way to begin. The principle behind this is simple. If you have less space in your bag, then you are forced to carry less. So I would suggest carrying a smaller bag and see for yourself, how easy it is to take some weight off your shoulders. Now, I don’t recommend  buying a new bag as its not necessary. If you can pack less in your current bag, that works too. 2. Switch to a small wallet.

A small cardholder does the job of carrying just the essentials !

So here's the thing with bigger wallets, we tend to carry all the unnecessary things such as receipts etc . With my previous wallet , I used to carry tons of receipts, to a point where my wallet was stuffed with just receipts from the previous months. Best practice that worked for me was to switch to a cardholder. This also helped me to get rid of tons of loyalty cards that I no longer use. Now you don’t have to carry all those loyalty cards with you all day. Stick to things you absolutely need like you're debit \ credit cards, ID, Driver's license etc. 3. Narrow down.   Empty your bag and see if you really need everything. As we speak of decluttering make sure you don’t over do it. Make sure you have enough space for essentials like keys, phone etc. Also don't carry books. Now I am an old school person who loves bullet journaling, but really think about it. Its quite wasteful to carry tons of journals when you can basically do most of the things on you're phone. But I get that some things are hard to replace, so carry a small book rather than a heavy gigantic one. 4. Carry travel Size products instead of full size.

Travel size products take way less space in your bag and leaves more space for other essentials !

I love hand creams, as my hands get super dry, i used to carry regular size hand creams, but then I switched to a travel size one and it fits in my bag perfectly and takes way less space. My bag is also less heavier as I use travel size products. If the product you want to carry doesn’t come in a travel size, simply carry it in a travel size container. 5. Limit the amount of makeup you carry.

Don't carry tons of products

Now Let's get real, you don’t need five different lipsticks. Also don’t carry the entire makeup bag. Try to do your makeup at home and carry just touching up products such as one lipstick.


So I followed these tips, watch this video to see what I carry in my current bag :

For the record, I carry : • My keys  • My Phone  • Back up charger 

• Cardholder 

• Hand cream 

• Just one lipstick 

• A healthy snack  I didn’t realize this, but having a lighter purse really helped me be more efficient. Now, I know exactly what I carry and where everything is. So on a run I don’t have to search through my huge bag to see where my keys are !

Now, what's your bag like ? Is it organized or cluttered ?  let me know down below. ♥


92 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page